Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc

Founded in 1913 at Howard University, the Deltas moved their headquarters to 1707 New Hampshire Ave., NW in 1972. The house was designed by architects, Bruce, Price, De Sibour and built in 1906 for George Vanderbilt. The four-story property is built of light stone brick in the Beaux Arts style. The interior has been renovated several times, and the Deltas have purchased 1703, 1705, 1709, and 1711 New Hampshire Avenue, NW to keep pace with the growth of the organization.

Delta Sigma Theta's first national headquarters opened in 1953 after a decades-long push to establish a working base in the Nation's capital. It was located at 1814 M St NW (below) and honored at a tea at the White House with First Lady Mamie Eisenhower.

  • <p>The sculpture featured in the crest is described as symbolizing “the attributes of strength, courage, hope, wisdom, beauty and femininity as depicted by the 22 founders of Delta Sigma Theta”.</p>

1707 New Hampshire Ave NW

Delta Sigma Theta strives to raise awareness of the global community's needs as well as engage interest and support in addressing those needs. In 2018, Delta's 26th National President Beverly Smith visited the Delta program in Kenya (above).

After incorporating in 1930, Delta Sigma Theta established a Five-Point Programmatic Thrust: economic development, educational development, international awareness and involvement, physical and mental health, and political awareness and involvement.

Notable members of the sorority represent have helped mold a legacy of impact and sisterhood in all sectors of society. Some of its many notable members include Ruby Dee, Betty Shabazz, Nikki Giovanni, Barbara Jordan, and Dorothy Height.

This portrait of the 22 Founders of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority is based on a photograph taken on the steps of Miner Hall on the campus of Howard University. The artist is Tarleton Blackwell. (1913).

The Delta Sigma Theta Bookmobile was an initiative that begun as the National Library Project in 1937. The effort began in North Carolina to serve African American communities that were underserved by their local library systems in the Jim Crow South. Books were collected from across the country by Delta chapters to aid this worthwhile endeavor. Several chapters duplicated the program throughout the 50’s and 60’s.

1963 Golden(50th) Anniversary Luncheon, held in the Americana Hotel in New York, New York. This convention, the sorority’s 27th, was famously addressed by President John F. Kennedy and included the decision to participate in the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom in August of that year.

Vice President Harris tweets "It was so great meeting with Deltas from across California. As I always say, whether you’re a Delta, AKA, or a member of any other part of the Divine Nine—we are all family." February 26, 2020

Seven Deltas of the 117th Congress: Stacy Plaskett (USVI), Val Demings (FL), Lucy McBath (GA), (21st National President and current Secretary of Housing and Urban Development) Marcia Fudge (OH), Yvette Clark (NY), Joyce Beatty (OH), Brenda Lawrence (MI)

In 2013, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority celebrated its centennial. After kicking off the year of commemoration with a stunning float in the Tournament of Roses Parade on New Year’s Day, members from across the globe gathered in Washington, DC on March 3 to reenact the very first public activity undertaken by the Founders: marching in the Women’s Suffrage Procession on March 3, 1913.

Members of Delta Sigma Theta hold a meeting with Speaker Nancy Pelosi during the annual ‘Delta Days at the Nation’s Capital’, a legislative conference where members meet and advocate for political issues. DDNC, along with its sister program Delta Days at the United Nations, are major events of Delta’s Political and International Awareness and Involvement program calendar.

Four past national Presidents are Dr. Paulette C. Walker; Cynthia Marie Antoinette Butler-McIntyre; Dr. Gwendolyn Boyd, and Dr. Thelma Daley (left to right).